Seventeen Utley Middle School band students were recently awarded spots into the 2017 Rockwall ISD All-District Honor Band. Students from all three middle schools competed for only a handful of spots in the elite ensemble.

Several students were placed in the top 3 spots in their section, including: 

Lorien Britt (1st Chair Flute)

Sarah North (1st Chair Tenor Saxophone)

Nathan Cascio (1st Chair Trombone)

Ben Smith (2nd Chair Percussion)

Caroline Robbins (3rd Chair Alto Saxophone)

Ryan Manning (3rd Chair Horn)

Austin Darrington (3rd Chair Euphonium)

The following students made the All-District Honor Band:

Lorien Britt (flute)

Alyssa Brewer (flute)

Maykayla Ramer (clarinet)

Laiana Lemons (clarinet)

Kayla Zamora (clarinet)

Matthew Green (clarinet)

Caroline Robbins (alto saxophone)

Sarah North (tenor saxophone)

Abbie Nieto (trumpet)

Ryan Manning (horn)

Brett Ramirez (horn)

Nathan Cascio (trombone)

Jason Norwood (trombone)

Austin Darrington (euphonium)

Larson Trast (euphonium)

Ben Smith (percussion)

Tiffany Liddie (percussion)

Congratulations to all of these students for their hard work and dedication!  An additional thanks is given to all directors who helped these students in their preparations for All-District Band auditions:  Loren Taylor, Joshua Snadow, Brandon Downs, Ben Sumrak, Carol Meadows, Leighann Buck, Russell Lancaster, and Josiah Gaiter. Many of these students also worked one-on-one with a teacher who specializes in each individual instrument.  A big thank you also goes out to all of our private lesson teachers for their hard work and dedication to helping our students in their preparations.

All the students who were awarded spots in the Rockwall ISD All-District Honor Band will participate in a special clinic and concert held on January 26th and 27th, 2018 at the Rockwall High School Performing Arts Center with guest clinician Chris Peñeda from Richardson ISD.

Top Row (Left to Right):  Ryan Manning, Ben Smith, Maykayla Ramer, Alyssa Brewer, Tiffany Liddie

Third Row (Left to Right):  Kayla Zamora, Austin Darrington, Brett Ramirez, Laiana Lemons, Sarah North

Second Row (Left to Right):  Larson Trast, Jason Norwood, Nathan Cascio, Lorien Britt, Caroline Robbins

Front (Left to Right):  Abbie Nieto, Matthew Green